Please update your browser for a better experience on this website!
... sourcing for news with ethical values


On: April 15, 2023 - In: Headlines - No comments



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Abass Adigun, the house of representatives candidate of the PDP as the winner of the re-run election in Ibadan south-east/north-east federal constituency of Oyo.
The PDP candidate, popularly known as Agboworin, won the election with 28,111 votes while Dapo Lam-Adesina of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 27, 338 votes.

Benjamin Olley, the INEC returning officer, announced Agboworin as the winner, noting that the candidate satisfied the requirements of the law to win the election.
“Today, April 15, 2023, I, Benjamin Olley, hereby announce that Abass Agboworin of PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner of the supplementary election into Ibadan North- east/south-east federal constituency of Oyo state,” Olley said.
On February 26, Akanni Lawanson, who was the returning officer at the time, declared the election inconclusive.
He said he could not declare the winner of the election because the number of collected permanent voter cards (PVCs) in some units where elections were not held or cancelled exceeded the margin between the two leading candidates.
Lawanson had said that the margin between Agboworin and Lam-Adesina was 650 votes while the PVCs in question were in excess of 1,200.
Meanwhile, Dapo Lam-Adesina, son of the late Lam-Adesina, a former governor of Oyo, also lost to Agboworin in 2019 when he was a member of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) before rejoining the APC in 2021.


Make your comments...